Parasailing Surprise!

I always have such a hard time figuring out presents for people; especially for Caleb. This year, though, I surprised him with parasailing. I knew I couldn’t keep the surprise for ten whole days (aka I knew I wouldn’t be able to drive into LA myself) so I gave him this random certificate I quickly made and stuck in his birthday card :-P

Screen Shot 2015-06-23 at 10.48.06 AMWe got to Marina del Rey on Saturday at around 12:30 in the afternoon. Our boat left at 1:30, but you had to check in early. We checked in and got our stuff together and then took a seat by the dock where the boat would come in and waited. When you check in they put a wristband on you noting either 500ft or 800ft so they know how high you’re going. I started noticing that everyone else (besides us) had wristbands for 800ft and when I told Caleb he said, “Well I’m sure we could just pay the difference…” and I was like, “NO!” haha I wanted to go parasailing, but 500 ft. was high enough for me.

DSC_4405The two guys on the boat driving and setting everything up were super nice and helpful! The guy driving played party music the whole time haha We were second to go and I didn’t realize I’d be so scared. When we got all strapped in, there was no turning back.

DSC_4448DSC_4459I was actually shaking! haha I’ve never been so scared that I shake before. Once we were all the way up, it was actually really peaceful. It was quiet and calm just floating in the air.

DSC_4467The best way I can describe it is that it’s like sitting in a swing set really high up in the air since the harness acts as a seat.

DSC_4505DSC_4501By the time they were bringing us back in, I was just starting to get used to it! They give you a quick dip in the water before you land back on the boat.

DSC_4522It was so much fun and I’m so glad we got to do it together! Next time, I’m prepared for 800 ft. :)

Leave a Reply

