Design // Calligraphy Beginnings

I started realizing that the handwritten script I liked so much in others’ design work was actually Copperplate Calligraphy. So, I’ve now set out to learn Copperplate Calligraphy! I found Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy: A Step-by-Step Manual by Eleanor Winters on Amazon after searching for a bit and decided it would be a good place to start based on reviews. It gives really clear and helpful instructions not only in teaching how to write, but everything you need to know beforehand from supplies to posture.

20140326-135727.jpg

 

After flipping through the book I was super excited to get started, but I knew it wasn’t something I could just guess my way through and make up as I go along. So, my first lessons began and they looked something like this:

20140326-135650.jpg

20140326-135704.jpg

It’s going to take a lot of learning and practice, but it’s actually pretty relaxing and I find it fun. At least the idea of what I could create after learning all of it seems fun :)

20140326-135742.jpg

 

I think even the practice sheet looks kinda pretty. What do you think? :)

~Arianna

2 thoughts on “Design // Calligraphy Beginnings

  1. I went for a calligraphy workshop and the instructor recommended this book. I like to learn more about drills and the ones you posted look interesting. I just want to ask where did you get the guideline sheets? Is it part of the book?

    • Yes! The book has one page (front and back) of printed guidelines. I cut it out of the book and placed it in between my layout pad sheets. It’s really helpful!

Leave a Reply

